Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Liberal Studies minor

What is the Liberal Studies minor?

The minor in Liberal Studies consists of 7 courses (or 21 credit hours), which includes two mandatory courses (6 credit hours) and 5 optional courses (15 credit hours) chosen from the list below. The Minor will be available to all students in any major program in any faculty at Ontario Tech University. It will be of interest to students majoring in STEM programs, who want to pursue social science and humanities courses across programs.

To earn this minor, complete:

LBAT 2000U Introduction to Liberal Studies
LBAT 4000U Liberal Studies Capstone


Any 5 courses from the Faculty of Social Science and Humanities, drawn from at least 2 different programs, with at least 1 upper year course.