Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

UNESCO Chair in Hate Studies Appointment and Panel Discussion

Join the Centre on Hate, Bias & Extremism as they announce the appointment of Dr. Barbara Perry as United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Chair in Hate Studies followed by a virtual panel discussion: Global Dimensions of Hate.


Tuesday, November 15, 2022

10:00 a.m. to 1 p.m.


Zoom Virtual Conference

Register today!


Ontario Tech University

Peter Stoett, Dean and Professor, Ontario Tech University, Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities

Steven Murphy, President and Vice-Chancellor, Ontario Tech University


Barbara Perry, UNESCO Chair (Hate Studies), Professor, Ontario Tech University, Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities and Director of the Centre on Hate Bias and Extremism

Roda Muse, Secretary General, Canadian Commission for UNESCO

Panel: Global Dimensions of Hate

Harsh Mander, Centre for Equity Studies, India

Heidi Beirich, Chief Strategy Officer & Co- Founder, Global Project Against Hate & Extremism, USA

Andrea Spitalszky, Legal Officer, Minority Rights Group International, Europe & Western Balkans

Juan Nel, Professor, University of South Africa, South Africa

Amanda Haynes, Senior Lecturer in Sociology, University of Limerick, European Centre for the Study of Hate, Ireland

Jennifer Schweppe, Senior Lecturer in Law, University of Limerick, European Centre for the Study of Hate, Ireland

Cam Stewart, Alberta Hate Crimes Committee, Canada

Event Information

Dr. Barbara Perry, Professor, Faculty of Social Science and Humanities (FSSH), is a recognized global authority on hate crime, and the primary national authority on right-wing extremism in Canada.

She is a well-known expert among media outlets including The Agenda, CBC, The Current, The Globe and Mail and The New York Times. Dr. Perry is a regular consultant with Justice Canada, Public Safety Canada, The RCMP, Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network and with local social justice organizations.

Her work extends to policing diverse communities, building resilience among marginalized communities, and broadly, issues of diversity and justice. Dr. Perry is helping to frame the field and foster global education and support for victims of hate-fuelled violence.

Join us in celebrating Dr. Perry and her work as she is appointed the UNESCO Chair in Hate Studies.

For additional information, please contact: Brad Galloway, Coordinator, in association with Meta Canada, Centre on Hate, Bias and Extremism