Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Political Science Faculty

Headshot of Scott Aquanno

Scott Aquanno, PhD

Assistant Professor
Undergraduate Program Director

Dr. Ruth Felder

Ruth Felder, PhD

Assistant Teaching Professor

Headshot of Shanti Fernando

Shanti Fernando, PhD

Associate Professor

This is a profile picture of Dr. Les Jacobs, Professor and Vice-President, Research and Innovation.

Les Jacobs, PhD, FRSC

Vice-President, Research and Innovation

Headshot of Alyson King

Alyson King, PhD

Associate Professor
Associate Dean, Undergraduate Student Experience

Tim photo

Tim MacNeill, PhD

Senior Teaching Professor

This is a picture of Peter Stoett.

Peter Stoett, PhD