Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Affective Science and Mental Health specialization (BA)

What is the Affective Science and Mental Health specialization (BA)?

Students will receive targeted education pertaining to the psychological and neural mechanisms underlying emotion, and the manner in which these mechanisms contribute to mental health or mental illness. 

How can I apply?

Admission is competitive. The specific average or standing required for admission varies from year to year. Students are selected by taking into consideration a wide range of criteria including school marks, distribution of subjects taken, and performance in subjects relevant to the academic degree. Possession of the minimum requirements does not guarantee acceptance. Preference will be given to applicants with the best qualifications. Current Ontario secondary school students must complete the Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD) with six 4U or 4M credits, including English (ENG4U). It is recommended that Biology (SBI4U) and one of Advanced Functions (MHF4U), Calculus and Vectors (MCV4U) or Mathematics of Data Management (MDM4U) is taken. To learn more about the admissions process and apply, visit our Undergraduate Admissions website.

Experiential Learning: Internships, Practicums, and Community Engagement

To learn more about the Affective Science and Mental Health specialization (BA) program’s experiential learning opportunities (e.g., the practicum, the internship, and community engagement projects), check out the Faculty of Social Science and Humanities’ Experiential Learning Office.

What courses will I take?

Year 1 (30 credit hours)

BIOL 1841U Essentials of Biology
PSYC 1000U Introductory Psychology
SSCI 1910U Writing for the Social Sciences

Two of:

COMM 1100U Introduction to Communication Studies
CRMN 1000U Introduction to Criminal Justice
LGLS 1000U Foundations of Legal Studies
POSC 1000U Introduction to Political Science

Five general electives (recommended elective: ALSU 1101U Foundations for Academic Learning and Success)

Year 2 (30 credit hours)

Two general electives
PSYC 2010U Developmental Psychology
PSYC 2020U Social Psychology
PSYC 2030U Abnormal Psychology
PSYC 2050U Brain and Behaviour
PSYC 2060U Cognitive Psychology
PSYC 2900U Research Methods in Psychology
PSYC 2910U Data Analysis in Psychology
PSYC 3060U Personality Psychology

Year 3 (30 credit hours)

PSYC 3910U Advanced Data Analysis in Psychology
Four Psychology electives*
Two FSSH electives**
Three general electives***

Year 4 (30 credit hours)

One of:

PSYC 4110U – Honours Thesis in Psychology I or
Psychology elective*

One of:

PSYC 4120U – Honours Thesis in Psychology II or
Psychology elective*

One of:

SSCI 4098U – Practicum or
SSCI 4103U – Internship or
Psychology elective*

Three Psychology electives*
Four general electives*
Psychology electives*
Any non-required course with a PSYC 3XXX or 4XXX designation can count towards students' necessary Psychology electives.
FSSH electives**
Any non-required course run within the Faculty of Social Science and Humanities that does not have a PSYC designation can count towards students' necessary FSSH electives.
General electives***
General electives can be taken at/or adjoining their year level, where permission has been granted and prerequisites have been fulfilled. Any non-required course in any faculty can count towards students' necessary general electives.
To achieve the specialization in Affective Science and Mental Health students will be required to complete five courses from the following lists, three of which must come from list A. 
List A:

PSYC 3065U – Emotion
PSYC 3090U – Social Affective Neuroscience
PSYC 3085U – Drugs and Behaviour
PSYC 3330U – Developmental Psychopathology
PSYC 3620U – Motivation and Emotion
List B:

FPSY 3055U – Treatment in Forensic Settings
FPSY 4820U – Selected Topics in Antisociality
HLSC 1811U – Social Determinants of Health
HLSC 3463U – Human Genetics in Society
HLSC 4821U – Exploring the Mind Body Connection: Wellness Promotion Strategies for Life
BIOL 3060U – Fundamentals of Neuroscience
BIOL 4820U – Neuropharmacology